Bravery In Marketing

I do not like the new Tide 2X. No matter how little I use, soap remains in dense fabrics, such as towels, and I can’t get it out. My daughter and I both have noticed that our clothes feel “itchy” with the new Tide. I have used Tide all my life, but I may have to change to something else, since I can no longer get “regular” Tide. Have others noticed this also?

Judy, Salt Lake City, UT

I used this product on a shirt of my husbands that had a new stain on the front. Bottom line stain is still there, I’ve used other products that worked much better than this one did. I would not recommend this product to anyone.

Miata, Waverly, NE

Companies don’t like to hear comments like these, or worse learn such comments are being shared with other people.

But those quotes weren’t pulled from a focus group nor from blogs, they were available on Tide’s home page from actual customers providing feedback regarding Tide’s products.

To take things a step further, Tide provides a slew of product reviews for all of its products so consumers can make an educated decision about the product in which they are interested.

In a time when consumers are asking for transparency (see SC Johnson’s new campaign about their ingredients) and using the social web (ie Twitter, Facebook, Yelp, Blogs) to share their thoughts, you have three choices:

  1. Ignore it and hope it goes away.  (It won’t)
  2. Listen to what people are saying and respond in a defensive manner
  3. Embrace it and use it to make your products better and your brand more trusted.

Let me know what companies you think are being brave in their marketing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

